Orlando Trip Recap!

I’m back from the hot state of Florida!  I didn’t place in my competition (Nutrition Knowledge Test) but it was awesome enough just to be there.  I promised a summary of how I survived eating healthy and exercising on the trip and that is what I’m going to give ya.

Tuesday-

Exercise: 6 miles

Eats: oatmeal with peanut butter and banana for breakfast, yogurt and granola after run, whole wheat mini veggie pizza for lunch, and cottage cheese with the last peach before we left.  I ate an almond butter sandwich, apple, and banana throughout the flight and later snacked on a Luna Bar.  For dinner I had a Salmon salad and an orange.

Wednesday-

Exercise: 3.5 miles

Eats: I had half a Luna Bar before my run and for breakfast I had coffee and oats with milk, the other half of the Luna Bar, and a banana.  I grabbed an apple later and for lunch I ordered a Vegetable sandwich on multigrain bread.  I snacked on a Larabar later and a Naked Juice and a banana.  We ordered pizza and I had two slices of the veggie and some steamed vegetables and a banana.  Later I had a Luna Bar.

Thursday-

Exercise: 30 minutes elliptical, 15 minutes bike

Eats: I had a banana with peanut butter before working out.  Then oats with banana and peanut butter, and coffee for breakfast.  I met my parents for lunch to Seasons 52 and had a fabulous vegetable soup and turkey burger with a side salad.  Later I had a bowl of watermelon,  a peanut butter and banana sandwich, Kashi GoLean crunch with plain yogurt, and a banana before my test.  I had a Larabar on the way to dinner and had a Vegetable Sandwich and a few bites of cucumber salad (it had cilantro, yuck) for dinner.

Friday-

Exercise: went to a “Healthy Start” symposium sponsored by the National Guard in the morning and ran 2 miles afterward.

Eats: banana with peanut butter pre-workout and oatmeal with peanut butter, yogurt, and banana for breakfast.  Lunch was a Salmon salad and two hours later a whole wheat bagel with peanut butter and banana and a glass of milk.  We went to  Magic Kingdom for the day.  I snacked on a Clif bar and had vegetarian chili and 2 packs of apple slices for dinner.  I had a Luna Bar later.  We were out really late and I had a Larabar later too.

Saturday-

Exercise: 4 hours of sleep=no exercise

Eats: the ol oatmeal with banana, peanut butter, and yogurt.  I was very excited to find a nice fruit cup for $3 and also snacked on a Larabar.  I had chicken and vegetable fajitas for lunch.  I also bought a $2 bag of grapes and ate em all.  I crashed once we returned back to the hotel and we went out to dinner when I woke up and I had another of the delicious salmon salads and a big plate of grilled vegetables.  Later I had an apple and Luna bar.

Sunday-

Exercise: 4 miles, bike ride

Eats: banana pre-run, oats with yogurt, banana, and peanut butter after.  I had to eat up the rest of my food so I had the rest of my Naked drink and some cottage cheese with veggies, and coffee.   We had lunch at the airport but the only eats that I could find that I liked was a Clif bar, apple, and mixed fruit.  I also had a Larabar on the plane.  After we landed, I grabbed a Perfect Oatmeal from Starbucks.  Once I got home, we cooked grilled Salmon, potatoes, and broccoli and fruit salad.  After dinner I went on a bike ride with my parents.  And before bed I had a Nature’s Path toaster pop with milk

All in all, I’m very happy with how I did!  I had sooo much water and had carrots to snack on so I didn’t include those in the logs.  I had only 1 larabar leftover so I packed just the right amount!  We were able to go to a grocery store the second day so luckily I had yogurt and peanut butter.  I was never starved nor stuffed.   I didn’t run that much, but we did a ridiculous amount of walking at the parks, I almost wish I wore my Garmin to see how far we walked.  I hope this helps you out for your future vacations!  My final tips would be to pack plenty of bars, drink lots of water, and look for whole grains and veggies on the menu.

And here’s a photo of the adorable Tigger coffee mug I bought! (The only souvenir I bought, it’s huge!  Probably holds 3 cups!)

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Orlando Trip Recap!”

  1. Jess Says:

    Thanks for posting how you stayed healthy while traveling! I stumbled upon your blog through one of the running message boards, and I think it’s a great thing that you’re doing. As a teacher, I know there are other students who will be able to follow your blog and be inspired to be healthy. Way to go! 🙂

  2. Caroline Says:

    Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving such nice comments! Have you found the new Larabars in stores yet? I keep looking b/c I’m obsessed too but, alas… 😦

    Good tips for eating healthy at grad. parties. I shouldn’t be, but I am, astounded by how few vegetables and whole grains the general population eats. Sometimes, I’ll eat a bag of baby carrots before I go, see what they have, and have a good meal later. I know that we’re supposed to “live a little,” as they say, but I PREFER clean, wholesome food.

    And congrats on racing after being injured! I’m not there yet with my injury, but I know it’s scary and tough. At least you know it can only get better from here.


Leave a Reply

