National Running Day

Happy National Running Day to all the runners out there!  I had previously planned for a long run today, but unsurprisingly woke up to storms like the forecasts showed (and they were actually right!!)  So I just took it easy and had some nice coffee and breakfast:

This is a breakfast you’ll see on here a lot, as I have it 75% of the time, but I’m trying to mix things up a bit!

This, my friends, is my favorite pumpkin oats in it’s pre-stirred state.  I microwave a serving of oats with skim milk, then I add:

1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

1 TBS ground flax

1 mashed banana

lots of cinnamon

big scoop of vanilla almond butter, as much as I feel like that morning, sometimes a tablespoon, other times it’s closer to 3 tablespoons!

I’ll have to take a post-stir picture in the future, but I don’t think it’d be as photogenic!

So I decided to head to the gym for my workout today, no chance of running or biking outside today.  I had a banana with nuttzo before I left:

At the gym, I warmed up with 2 miles on the track.  I did it in spite of it being National Running Day, but I’m really glad I did!  I felt really good and finished my warm-up in 15:15.  Then I went into the pool and swam some laps.  I’m not a swimmer at all, and was only doing it to try something new, I think I’m a wanna-be triathlete!  Well, maybe one day I will be one for real.

I was more than ready for lunch upon returning home.  I had some mixed greens that needed to be consumed so I threw most of a bag onto and plate and added:

shredded carrots

orange bell pepper

leftover grilled asparagus

scallions

and drizzled 1.5TBS of raspberry vinaigrette

Alongside, I made a yummy sandwich/panini.  (spell check doesn’t like ‘panini’!)

With nutty oatmeal flax Great Harvest bread, I added:

a slice of 2% Colby-jack cheese

leftover sauteed zucchini

leftover grilled brussel sprouts

canned garlic/onion tomatoes

Basically, my lunch was yummy stuff I found in the fridge!

Here’s a side, mid-noshing photo:

Yum!  Very tasty and satisfying lunch!  Off to do random stuff…oh how I love summer 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “National Running Day”

  1. Evan Thomas Says:

    I’ve never been able to try peanut free Nuttzo but if it’s as good as the peanut version then I’m drooling for it!


Leave a Reply

