There’s a Monster in the Kitchen!

I had good ‘ol hill repeats on the plan for my run this morning.  I did about a 4.3 mile warmup and then 8 x 150m hill repeats.  There was a street cleaner going down the streets, I think I got in his way…oops.  Well, maybe I gave him a nice show :)

The splits are kind of weird to divide up so I’ll just forgo those today.  I actually ended up running exactly 6.2 miles – a 10k!

After stretching and hip strengthening, it was time for my recovery food and to feature one of my “favorite things”.

Chocolate Graham Cracker Monster Recovery Smoothie

I have already posted a similar smoothie recipe, but this a slight variation

I’ll start off by saying that I have just a normal-joe blender, no fancy Vita-mix (which I do want to get someday…)

Into the blender goes 1 cup milk, 1 scoop Chocolate Amazing Grass, 2tsp Almond Butter, and 1-2 cups of spinach.

Bing bing!  Is that Chocolate Amazing Grass I hear?

So as you can see, this stuff is pretty amazing (no pun intended).  It is a bit on the pricey side, but totally worth it.   Throw some of that healthfulness into your blender now!

(It’s a one tablespoon scoop).  I get a lot of questions about taste.  It’s a little too grassy on it’s own with just milk, but I think it’s perfect when added to a smoothie!

So blend up those ingredients!

The spinach may not all blend in right away…

But after a bit of encouragement (and patience) it will!

After that’s well blended, I added 3 ‘chunks’ of banana that I pre-froze.  It probably equals about 1/2 a banana’s worth.

Blend blend blend blend!!

Ahh!  Look at that monster!!

It really tastes like a chocolate graham cracker.  Back in the day, my favorite snack was 3-4 graham crackers crumbled up in a bowl with milk!  This smoothie is a delicious and nutritious blend of protein, carbs, and fat along with  plenty of nutrients, making it a perfect recovery snack or anytime snack!  Enjoy :)  but watch out for green mustaches!  And stay tuned for more “favorite things” to be featured!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “There’s a Monster in the Kitchen!”


  1. I love green monsters in the morning or after a good workout. I’ve never tried Amazing Grass products before, but knowing I could make a choco graham cracker tasting shake, I might have to get some!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

